Twenty-Five Days of Feelings: Day Twenty

This year I’m undergoing a bit of an experiment: Thirty straight days of doing/watching/listening to/reading something that makes me feel – however fleetingly – like an actual human being, in the hopes that this will thaw a layer of ice off my frozen shriveled little heart, and allow me to not be such a buzzkill this year. So let’s get to it.

Day Twenty: 

Guys. This is getting really tough. I’ve literally sat here for thirty forty-five minutes combing my brain for something while I watch Friday Night Lights.

Wait.

That’s it.

No, not FNL. Explosions in the Sky!

My first exposure to them was not from Friday Night Lights, which I just started watching the other day. It started at summer camp, I think. I don’t know, maybe I’d heard them before. But at camp, there were pretty strict rules about what we could listen to, and I’m sorry to report that there’s only so much Christian music I can listen to until I pop a gasket. So Explosions was a perfect find. There are no words, so you can’t get mad about it! Sometimes it’s quiet and perfect background noise. Sometimes it’s epic and pumps you up.

But what I really love about it is its ability to convey emotion. I’m not a “music guy.” I probably spend under $20 a year on music, if that. I only recently learned what a harmony is. So music doesn’t often inspire feelings in me (unless it’s Linkin Park and I’m back in high school), and when it does it’s the lyrics that speak to me, not the music. Explosions is different. I’m able to create a story in my head, to picture scenarios to fit the music. I imagine that’s what people like my brother like about classical music.

Anyway, you should look ’em up on YouTube or something, because it’s really hard to talk about a band that doesn’t sing, and does music for a show you barely watch. But they’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

