Top Things for 10/29/12

Hello all! I hope all you New England readers are feeling repentant for your Sinful Ways in the wake of God’s Wrath being poured out on you in the form of Hurricane Sandy. REPENT! REPEEEEENNNNNNNNNNTTTTTT.

And also, you know, be safe and know that our thoughts and prayers are with you. But mostly smug Christian judgment.

Books

I’m not really feeling any major release this week, but there is a book about Santa vs. The Krampus, so that has to be worth at least a cursory glance, right?

Comics

The release I’m most excited about this week is probably Aquaman #13, which wraps up the amazing “The Others” arc, which has told Arthur’s origin story to an extent and introduced a lot of cool mythology into Aquaman’s story. We’ll finally get to see who Black Manta is working for, and hopefully what really happened to Atlantis. Should be fun!

Also out: new Angel & Faith, Avengers + X-Men, the last issue of X-Men: Legacy, Action Comics’ Annual, and a bunch of other stuff!

Movies

Wreck-It Ralph! Is it bad that I’m so excited about a children’s movie? Well I don’t care! I’ve been playing video games my whole life and this just looks so fun. I mean come on, there’s a Bowser, a Dr. Robotnik, and a Blinky. WHAT’S NOT TO LOVE.

Music

There’s a shocking amount of music coming out this week! We’ve got some Andrew Bird for all you hipsters, some Cee-Lo for all you… whoevers that like Cee-Lo, some Toby Keith for all you country music fans, some Flyleaf for you rockers, and some Calvin Harris for you pop/house kids out there like me. So a little something for everyone!

Television

Guys, I can’t even choose any more. Downton is more dramatic than ever. Homeland is more riveting. Dexter has a renewed purpose and sense of self. Once Upon a Time has really found its groove. Revenge is salacious. Happy Endings is hilarious.

Actually, let’s go with Happy Endings. It’s a Halloween episode, featuring the cast as what looks like the Jacksons. Or a soul train or something. I don’t really know, but it looks hysterical. So watch it.

 

And that’s about it. I’m going to crawl my way to a bottle of Nyquil and curl up with my Kindle until the sweet mercy of sleep takes me like a viral taking an innocent victim in The Passage. Hashtag: Sinus Infection. Every October. Like clockwork. I hate my body.

Peace love and tacos.

2 Responses to Top Things for 10/29/12

  1. javaj240 says:

    Did Downton start? Ugh! If it did….I ‘ll have to catch up.

Leave a Reply

