Recs for Memorial Day ’12

Happy Memorial Day guys. If you have ever served our great nation, thank you. If someone you know has done so, please, thank them. And if someone you know has made the ultimate sacrifice, know that my thoughts and prayers are with them and their family.

And of course, I hope we all enjoy a day off of work. Rest, relax, watch the True Blood marathon, drink beer, and barbecue. That is pretty much all I’ll be doing.

[UPDATE: just found out that BEAST WARS is on Netflix Instant, so… day re-written]

Music

This week sees a little bit of something for everyone. There’s a new release by Jennifer Lopez out today, but if you consider that music, you’re really reading the wrong blog.

This week also has an album by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes. I have never heard of them, because I am dangerously unhip, but Griffin plugged them here, and I trust him implicitly, so check it out!

We’ll also be getting something from Regina Spektor this week. I know a lot of girls that really dig her fierce independence and strong song-writing. And while I generally find her to be a refreshing change from the incredibly bland and over-synthesized generica out there, I’m not sure I care enough to pay for an album.

And finally we have Sigur Ros, the Icelandic musical poet. Is that redundant? Not in this day and age. Anyway I really like this band. Maybe it’s because it reminds me of Scandinavia, maybe it’s because it transports my mind to a world of verdant fields and babbling brooks, of burning golden sunlight and warm summer breezes. Simply put, Sigur Ros makes me feel emotion more than any other music I’ve encountered, and that is always something worth paying for.

Movies

Snow White and the Huntsman comes out this week, and despite Kristen Stewart’s uncanny resemblance to a plank of wood – except with less emotion – this movie actually looks pretty good. I mean yes, the trailers make Charlize Theron seem REALLY overdramatic, but it’s Charlize Theron. Between Thor, The Avengers, and Cabin in the Woods, Chris Hemsworth has proven himself in my book, so overall I think this movie could be worthwhile.

Television

There is literally nothing I want to watch all week, except for the Game of Thrones finale this Sunday. It’s going to be 70 minutes long, and after the immensely epic murder circus that was this past week’s episode, there are a LOT of loose threads to tie up.

And of course there’s Mad Men, which has been on an especially good run of episodes lately. What will happen with Peggy now? When will Lane’s scheme blow up? Will Pete Campbell go Full Sleazeball? Probably!

Comics

As is usually the case in months with five Wednesdays instead of four, this last week of May is EXTREMELY light. The only release I could find worth buying is Angel and Faith, which has been an extremely consistent corner of the Buffyverse – more so in fact, than Buffy. There’s something kind of Buddy Cop about it, but mixed with a healthy dose of Redemption Quest and Moral Ambiguity for good measure. The result is quite delicious.

And that my friends, is all we have time for today. Enjoy your food comas!

Leave a Reply

