Summer Preview

Hey guys, so apparently Trace is sick, so Ian has asked me to step in and fill the gap. Don’t worry, I don’t mind being second-string. Put me in coach, I’m ready!

Seeing as this is so last-minute, I’m not really sure what to write about. When asked, Ian simply texted, “iduno like maybetv,” and then I couldn’t get ahold of him again. So… thanks Cuz. So, you guys all take a break while I think.

OK. I’m back. And I’ve decided to talk about this summer’s tv.

Growing up, the summer seemed like a black hole for television. We were relegated to watching reruns of Boy Meets World and The Brady Bunch. Sick. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve found that summers can yield the occasional gold nugget.

In particular, I think of The O. C., which premiered during a summer, became a smash hit, and carried on for four years (to various levels of success). Also, Summerland, a fairly unremarkable but fun show that featured Ryan Kwanten with Authentic Kung-Fu Grip Aussie Accent (yum), and a little Baby Zefron, which is just hilarious.

Even more recently, with the renaissance of cable happening right now (Bravo notwithstanding [yes, there ARE gay men who hate Bravo]), summers have become the place to go for high-quality television. Dexter, Homeland, Mad Men, Breaking Bad… These all started as summer shows.

So let’s take a look at what’s in store this summer, shall we?

True Blood

No one loves ‘Game of Thrones’ more than I do. Well, that’s probably not true. But I do like it a lot. So why am I counting down the days until it’s over? SEXY VAMPIRES DUH.

Don’t get me wrong. ‘True Blood’ is far from high-quality drama, and the fourth season left MUCH to be desired. But there is just something so deliciously campy and insane about it, I can’t help myself. Plus, yes, allow me to be a cliché for a minute and fawn over Joe Manganiello, Ryan Kwanten, and Alexander Skarsgård for a minute. Mmmm. OK, I’m done. But anyway, this season will feature Scott Foley, of Unit and Felicity fame, and hopefully NOT feature Rutina Wesley anymore, because Tara is crap. Plus the two best/most ridiculous villains are back this year, so there are definite reasons to hope.

Premieres in June on HBO

Breaking Bad

‘Breaking Bad’ kicks off part one of its final two-part final season this summer. I have been unable to find many details at this junction, but don’t let that fool you: I am super excited for this show. I have absolutely no idea what to expect. Will Walter hit the moral rock bottom and rebound, seeking redemption? Or will he continue to crash through that bottom, finding new lows, but remaining mostly likable at the same time? This show could really go either way, but personally my money is on Jesse killing Walt. You heard it here first.

Premieres in July on AMC

Other

Breaking Bad and True Blood are really the only two shows this summer I’m actually excited about, since the phenomenal ‘Homeland’ and occasionally-awesome Dexter (unwisely, in my opinion) decided to move to September.

That being said, there are a couple more shows that promise to be vaguely entertaining.

For example, the ‘Dallas’ reboot. Or is it a sequel? I’m not sure, but it has Jesse Metcalfe so that could be worth the price of admission alone. Otherwise this looks like a standard soap opera: wealthy family, business, ridiculously gorgeous people, and sex. So, as long as you know what you’re getting into, there’s no reason not to enjoy it.

In that same vein is MTV’s Teen Wolf, which is so deliciously awful I can’t help but occasionally – OCCASIONALLY – tune in. Laughs are guaranteed.

Reality TV

It’s true that most high quality shows in the summer are on cable. But summertime is the Mecca of reality TV for the networks. And the jewel in that crown (sorry, I hate mixing metaphors but finals – sleep = incoherency)?

SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE. What is there to say? It consistently brings me to tears. The emotions are so pure, and the dancing so primal and beautiful. It is the highlight of my reality tv summer.

And that, my new friends, must be all I say at the moment. For all our sanity. This has been a pleasure.

Leave a Reply

