Adventures in Pop Culture: 04/30-05/06

Greetings Earthlings, I hear your girls are easy. (That link doesn’t take you to anything sketchy, I promise)

So here we are, standing on the threshold between months – April already fading to distant memory, May stretched out before us, pregnant with possibilities. Let’s not screw it up, OK?

And on a personal note, I saw PLENTY of adorable pug pictures, and CHOSE not to put them up, so… you’re welcome.

[EDIT]: It’s a one-eyed Christmas Pug, what was I supposed to do people???

This Week In…

Music

So this week gives us many presents, including The Avengers’ soundtrack, which is basically a dream come true to my 16 year-old self with artists like Rise Against, Shinedown, Papa Roach, Evanescence, and Bush. 24 year-old me is mostly just excited because it means the movie is coming out basically NOOOOOWWWWWW.

We’ve also got the second studio album from B.O.B., and it looks like he hasn’t answered any of my concerns – namely his over-reliance on guest-stars. There’s also new albums from Carrie Underwood and Chris Brown, so if you like good-looking people who will key your car and/or punch you in the face… have at it.

The release I’m most excited about however, is Little Broken Hearts, the fifth studio album from Norah Jones. My brother hates Norah, which is a sure sign that I love her. She is so soothing. Sometimes, when I’m gripped by the fiery hand of Road Rage, I find my Norah Jones playlist, and let her take me away to Neverland, where we frolic and sing and put on weird mouse costumes and play the piano… What was I saying? Sorry. I just really like Norah.

Movies

Obviously, the big release this week is going to be The Avengers. It hasn’t even come out yet, and is already the third-highest grossing film of the year. That is… staggering. Also, seeing as I just saw The Cabin in the Woods, my faith in Joss Whedon couldn’t be higher right now, and I eagerly anticipate its release.

Television

OK so on Monday night, we’ve got the last episode of HIMYM before the two-part finale. Not gonna lie, I have like three episodes to catch up on. But it looks like Ted and Robin are finally going to clear the air/ get closure, so that will hopefully be good. Also, new Eureka! Last week’s episode left my jaw hanging open, which is really rare for that show. So now we know things are serious, and I couldn’t be happier.

On Tuesday we have New Girl, and I think it’s the finally, and should deal with the idea of backsliding and returning to a past you should have left behind.

On Wednesday, ABC continues its trend of being the only network to watch. With new episodes of Apt. 23 and Modern Family, I’m guaranteed to be in a good mood for 9:00 – Revenge time. The show is heating up big time for the impending finale, so you should definitely start getting caught up if you aren’t already.

On Thursday we’ve got new Awake and I believe Person of Interest – which I recently saw another episode of and was pleasantly surprised by how interesting it was! And of course a new Community, where Britta gets to implement her Psych skills, which is guaranteed to bring laughs.

Friday night sees a new Supernatural, which has actually been on an upswing the last few episodes, I’m happy to report. This may be the finale? Also Fringe airs part one of its season (NOT SERIES BECAUSE WE HAVE A FIFTH SEASON WOOO) finale, which thankfully will feature both universes!

And as always, Mad Men and Game of Thrones. Duh.

Comics

Over at DC, we have new Action Comics, which should now begin its second arc. If I know anything about Grant Morrison, each arc should be better than the last, so yay! There’s also new Swamp Thing and Animal Man, which are building toward something truly epic together. AND DC launches its Second Wave (aka a bunch of new titles after canceling some under-performers) with Earth-2, which I will probably be checking out. I mean, look at how awesome they look!

Marvel has a new Avengers vs. X-Men, and X-Factor Hootie Hoo! And that’s about it!

Books

Books! There are books coming out in May! Books I want to read!

This month sees the release of the twelfth Sookie Stackhouse novel: Deadlocked, which sees more mystery solving and vampire drama. I’ve never read these books, but I’m a huge (albeit somewhat embarrassed) fan of True Blood, so maybe this summer I’ll finally read them (but tell no one about it).

We also have the start of a new duology by N. K. Jemisin withThe Killing Moon. Jemisin first got my attention with herInheritance Trilogy, which was fantastic. The first book – The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, was original, interesting, and well-written – especially for a debut novel. The Killing Moon, goes High Fantasy, which excites the hell out of me.

I’m also really intrigued by this book. It’s a flip-book, and a though experiment, and it’s two stories in one! Sci-fi AND mythology-meets-real-world. Basically it sounds really interesting.

And that’s about it for the week! On the blog we’ve got a post from your’s truly about comics (honestly I’m not sure exactly what specifically yet, but I will). And then on Friday we should get a music post from Stephen, which is truly a treat. So thanks for checking us out, and we’ll see you next time!

Leave a Reply

