Welcome Welcome!

Guys. It’s April. APRIL. Let’s all just take a moment to realize that 25% of the year is already over.

Wow.

Anyway! Welcome to the new edition of Tellurian Things! For those of you who are new, “Tellurian” is a weird word that basically means “Earthly.” To be honest, I was mostly just looking for words that ended in “-ian” for the blog, and came across this one, which basically sums it up perfectly. I mean, what else would you call a blog, made by Ian, that talks about earthly pop culture things?

So, it’s Monday, which means that it’s time for my new weekly feature, This Week In…, in which I’ll discuss the weekly happenings I’m looking forward to. So let’s begin!

Music

The major release this Tuesday is Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded by Nicki Minaj. While I really enjoy 2010’s Pink Friday, I’m not sure I’ll be buying this album initially, unless I can find it on sale. I don’t know if I can pinpoint an exact reason for this, other than the fact that I really hate “Stupid Hoe.” Like, a lot. But I don’t find “Starships” particularly grating, so we’ll see.

Other than that, the only release I’m remotely interested in is Paul Van Dyk’s “Evolution,” and that’s mostly just because my 2003 love of electronica has been recently re-awakened. I’m interested to see how he responds to the sudden (and disturbing) acceptance of Skrillex and dubstep in general into the mainstream (more or less), and I can only hope he totally rejects it.

Movies

This Wednesday, we will see the 3-D re-release of James Cameron’s “Titanic,” or as I like to call it “The Great Fleecing of 2012.” Seriously you guys, I am MORALLY opposed to 3-D re-releases. Honestly I’m mostly opposed to 3-D in general – the obvious exception being movies that were FILMED in 3-D, like Hugo (or Avatar, generic story notwithstanding). Wrath of the Titans? Why 3D? Hunger Games? Why 3D?

And I find it particularly offensive to re-release movies, in 3-D, at the higher price. I mean, it’s such a blatant attempt to ripoff people and exploit their nostalgia (I’m looking at you Disney!), but people KEEP FALLING FOR IT.

I don’t know, maybe I’m just a grumpy old man. Anyway, good luck to everything going up against Titanic 3D. Or not, because none of it looks very good. Just go see Hunger Games again.

Television

Well. It’s April, which is BASICALLY summer. Which means all the amazing cable shows are coming back. So if you only watch two shows this week, it should be Game of Thrones on HBO and Mad Men on AMC. Both shows are only an episode or two into their respective seasons, so it’s relatively easy to get caught up and dive right in. Both of those also air on Sunday.

Other items in my grab-bag are Once Upon a Time on ABC, which is finally telling a decent story that is FINALLY going somewhere; Community, which features the second part of the Troy/Abed Feud, and seems to be a war episode (with pillows, natch); and Fringe, which looks Lincoln-centric and takes place in the Red Universe. There are also new episodes of New Girl – which has really hit its stride lately, Raising Hope – which is always a solid half-hour, and Happy Endings – a wonderful, goofy, hilarious treasure.

Comics

The big release you might have seen something about this week is Issue #1 of Avengers vs. X-Men. This is the start of Marvel’s annual Big Dumb Event, which is inevitably: Over-Hyped, Delayed, Too Long, Inconsistent, and Frustrating. That being said, I will probably still read it, if only because of my Fan Boy hope at seeing the return of Jean Grey.

There are also new issues of Wolverine and the X-Men, Uncanny X-Force, Avengers Academy (Featuring The Runaways!!!), and Action Comics.

Aaaaaand I think that’s long enough for now. So, tune in Wednesday for my Spotlight On: Comics, in which I discuss the recent East Coast/West Coast split among the X-Men, and possibly the feud between the Avengers and X-Men. Then on Friday, you’ll be getting a post from Stephen about music. So, thanks for checking us out and we’ll see you later! And may the odds be ever in your favor.

Leave a Reply

