My love of Weezer, explained

In my whole life, I have only met a few people who really like Weezer. I don’t know why, but it seriously bums me out, because they are one of my absolute favorite bands.

Don’t get me wrong. They’re no Coldplay. They are rarely haunting, beautiful, or deep. Which are probably the exact same words I would use to describe my next favorite band – Snow Patrol. Actually, now that I think of it, those are also the words I would use to describe Death Cab for Cutie, my next favorite. And Sufjan Stevens! Dang I’m nowhere near as eclectic as I pretend to be. They aren’t the Killers – constantly experimenting with new and vastly different styles, blending them together and creating something magical. They’re just Weezer – a band that perhaps means more to me than any other. Weezer holds a special place in my heart. Them coming into my life signified a drastic change. I was moving away from Linkin Park, Nirvana, Three Days Grace and Breaking Benjamin – bands that spoke to the loneliness, anger, and deep sadness inside me (teenage angst, ugh) – through Coldplay (which was still somewhat sad and melancholic), and onto bands that were more… FUN. No Doubt, Sugarcult,Rooney, and first and foremost – Weezer. These bands represent a time when I began to find confidence, new friends, and – cheesy as it sounds – hope. Some of my fondest memories are listening to them the summer after I graduated high school, eating Tostitos and Skittles, drinking Vanilla Coke, on a beach blanket in the sun, reading my X-Men Essentials (basically years’ worth of X-Men comics printed without color on cheap newspaper, selling for like $15. Highly recommend it.). Honestly, that sounds like a recipe for a perfect day even now.

The wonderful – and incredibly underrated – thing about Weezer (and Rooney, who I lovingly refer to as the lovechild of Weezer and 80s pop), is that they are simple. Simple. Uncomplicated. Not pretentious. Consistent. I don’t turn to Weezer to think about break ups, death, or the human condition. I don’t listen to Weezer when I want Christian allegories, vaguely spiritual themes, or angry-at-God resentment. I put on Weezer to hear about loving a girl who turns out to be a lesbian. To hear about an obsessed Japanese fan-girl. To hear about hash pipes, dope noses, Beverly Hills, and islands in the sun. From those first catchy guitar chords of My Name Is Jonas to those weird violin and piano notes of Represent, my soul is on a journey through sunlight and puppies.

And as a bonus, when they DO have a song that’s deep and soulful, it blows me away. To this day, Angel and the One remains one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard. An intensely spiritual song, it describes meditation in almost sexual terms, highlighting the transcendent nature of religion. Only In Dreams? An equally phenomenal song about a love that is perfect and pure and fictional.

At the end of the day, Weezer isn’t for everybody, and neither is Rooney. Heck, at the end of the day, I want more than those two. They’re like chocolate: sweet, filled with anti-oxidants, good for your heart and soul. But you can’t live on chocolate. You need the meaty truths of Sufjan and Coldplay, etc.

So anyway, I love Weezer. I won’t say that they saved me, because they didn’t. But in a very real way, they were there for me when I needed them, needed something light and fun and full of life, and for that I will always love them in a way I will love no other band.

Leave a Reply

