Top 10 Psych Episodes

Jules. Love.

When I look for a new show, there are a few things I typically look for.  Attractive leads, women who kick butt, vast amounts of unresolved sexual tension, but most of all I look for season-spanning plot.  LOST, Battlestar Galactica, Alias, Airbender, even Buffy.  Normally something I tend to steer away from are “procedurals,” shows that focus on a single crime or mystery that is resolved that episode.  Like Scooby Doo, Law and Order, or CSI.  So, you will be as shocked as I was when I tell you that Psych has become not only my favorite show currently on, but also one of my top 10 shows of all time.

This show is very well done.  Attractive leads? In spades.  Women who kick butt? Just one, but it’s enough for me.  UST? WOW. Yes.  And there’s even an element of arc, mostly in how self-referential the show is but also with recurring villains and such.  Also, it has two of my favorite plot devices: a parent/child reconciliation and friends who are closer than brothers.  There are tons of references to movies and television, and the cast has amazing synergy.  Each character has a unique voice that translates across seasons and writers flawlessly.  Shawn and Gus are among my favorite TV relationships (platonic or otherwise) of all time, and the slow-forming relationship between Shawn and Jules makes me literally giddy.

So anyway, I’m obsessed, and here is a list of my favorite episodes so far.

10.  Weekend Warriors – The aspiring history teacher in me loves all the Civil War stuff.  Plus it’s got fun costumes and explosions

9.  Tuesday the 17th – Yay for slasher flicks! Yay more for making fun of them!

8.  Bounty Hunters – Well let’s get the obvious out of the way: KEVIN SORBO OMG IT’S HERCULES!!!  Also there’s a baller scene between Shawn and Jules at the end

7.  American Duos – Ummm, Tim Curry? Check.  Making fun of Idol? Check.  Shawn dressed as some 80s singer? Check.  Gus dressed as Michael Jackson? Double check.  Oh yeah, and Jules turning into a choreography Nazi in 80s aerobics gear? TRIPLE CHECK.

6.  Disco Didn’t Die. It Was Murdered! – Mostly I just like this one because of the fun 70s clothes they wear all episode.  Also working with Henry is interesting.

5.  Scary Sherry: Bianca’s Toast – Probably my favorite part of this episode is Jules pretending to be a sorority girl, and in the process beginning to take on their attributes in real life.

4.  Black and Tan: A Crime of Fashion – Dumb models are everywhere, and GUS of all people becomes one of them.  That’s about all I need to hear.

3.  Mr. Yin Presents – In addition to being a CREEPY ASS sequel to An Evening With Mr. Yang, the whole episode was chock-full of references and homages to Alfred Hitchcock films.  Very well done.

2.  Shawn Takes a Shot in the Dark – I really liked this episode because it was so different from the norm.  It was also really heart-warming to see everyone rally to save Shawn, even to the point of Lassiter calling him by his first name (albeit when he wasn’t around to hear it)

1.  Talk Derby to Me – Oh my gosh.  There was no contest when it came to favorite episode.  I mean, I’m in love with Jules as it is, but to see her skate around with pigtails and knee pads, elbowing chicks in the face?  Basically a recipe for awesome.  I smiled like a huge dork the WHOLE episode.

Honorable Mentions:

Shawn vs. The Red Phantom – Comic nerds!!

65 Million Years Off – Excavation Station! All aboard!

The Old and The Restless – Old people! Hilarity ensues.

Lights, Camera… Homicidio – Telenovela in all its goodness!

2 Responses to Top 10 Psych Episodes

  1. criner says:

    How could you leave out “an evening with Mr. Yang”?? (UST all OVER the place)

    Or “Lassie did a bad, bad thing” – we got a view into his life (creepy).

    Although I agree with your list – this is one of my favorite shows.

    • Author says:

      ACTUALLY “Lassie did a bad, bad thing” is one of only four episodes I haven’t seen! I tried to watch it and Netflix flipped out on me! I need to go see if it will let me watch now. And “An evening with Mr. Yang” is great, and in hindsight is probably on the list. Let’s pretend I lumped it together with the Yin episode….

Leave a Reply

